Are you mentally prepared for your own business?

Is there ever a right time to start a business?

I’ve been waiting for the “right time” and while waiting for a date to take flight, everyone else around me seems to have taken off already, including my partner. He has multiple businesses going at the same time. And I struggle to start and stick with one. Am I not passionate enough? Is the timing wrong? Is there something wrong with me? Am I meant to just have a 9 to 5, then pursue a passion during retirement?

I ask myself these questions almost daily, now. 

I know I’m not happy with my day job. No disrespect to my day job, it’s just not for me. I dare not say that when they ask me, clearly I’m not doing a great job of hiding the fact that I’m unhappy there. I do my best regardless of how unfulfilling the tasks are because at the end of the day, I’m not in a place where I can proudly say “I don’t work for money, money works for me” because I do work for income and not the other way around. It’s just not a path to the end game that I want for my life.

I know personally, I need to focus on Jazmine. 

Whether it’s getting to know her more or mastering the basics of life like paying bills on time, getting enough sleep at night, getting healthy, being consistent with anything really and organizing myself (I need to be successful, so I can hire a maid because I’m just messy). In fact, I hear this quite often

“the way you organize your house is a reflection of how you organize your thoughts” 

says my life coach boyfriend, as I look around at my now messy studio apartment and realize “well, this definitely isn’t the right time to start a side hustle. Not until I tackle this mess, physically and mentally”. Sadly, I can’t even find the remote right now and haven’t been able to since Friday.

But what about all the quotes that say: “Everything you need is inside you”?

I’m sure they are right. I think what they mean is you must have a certain level of mindfulness and look inward to find all of your answers. I try to look inward but my attention dwindles so fast that I don’t find much. Mostly due to fear. There’s a lot down there that I just don’t possess the where with all to deal with. Hence, why I need to really work on my thinking before I can start any kind of venture.

On the other hand, a Blog might not be a bad idea.

I mean, from my research of blogs written with a personal voice. Personal blogs are more about the journey and personal growth. In the past, I have let my boyfriend read some of my work and he said: “sounds too personal”. Since I lacked self-esteem and self-trust, I abandoned that blog for fear that it was too personal and therefore, a waste of time. I didn’t have the confidence to tell him “Authoritative style blogs aren’t the only ones that can be monetized”. Instead, I took his opinion for fact and scrapped the whole project, to which I now regret. I didn’t realize it then, but I caused, even more, distrust towards myself by not trusting that I knew what I was doing. 

It may not always be a good time to start a business, but it’s always the right time to start a blog.

You never know where it may lead to, and you’ll really never know if you never try.
Until next time,
Jaz

via Blogger http://ift.tt/1TixENs

Leave a Reply

